A Book

I was going to add this review to the last post but decided that this book needed a post all of its own.

Its A Little Life By Hanya Yanagihara

515sMPb0RyL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

The official blurb is this

When four classmates from a small Massachusetts college move to New York to make their way, they’re broke, adrift, and buoyed only by their friendship and ambition. There is kind, handsome Willem, an aspiring actor; JB, a quick-witted, sometimes cruel painter pursuing fame in the art world; Malcolm, a frustrated architect at a prominent firm; and withdrawn, brilliant, enigmatic Jude, who serves as their centre of gravity. Over the decades, their relationships deepen and darken, tinged by addiction, success, and pride. Yet their greatest challenge, each comes to realize, is Jude himself, by midlife a terrifyingly talented lawyer yet an increasingly broken man, his mind and body scarred by an unspeakable childhood, and haunted by a degree of trauma that he fears he will not only be unable to overcome – but that will define his life forever . . .

I am not prone to sweeping statements but I actually think this book has changed my life forever too, not in a huge dramatic way but in a small ways, maybe only noticeable by myself and I think it will carry on changing me to as I still think about it now two weeks after finishing it.

I have to thank Kevin at Stepney City Farm for recommending it, its not something I would normally tackle at the present time, with a young child I find it difficult to read anything that I can’t read a couple of pages at a time as that is the time I have, no longer do I have the long commutes I used to have or babysitting time when the children were all asleep when I arrived, this isn’t that type of book, you need to have at least twenty minutes at a time, if not longer, to do it justice. It turned up just at the right time for me having injured my hand I was having to rest so it gave me an excuse to get lost in the story, and I did get lost. I don’t recommend it if you are looking for something to lift your mood or to escape to as its not a happy story and in fact on two occasions had me in tears (this hasn’t happened in years), but I found myself caring so much about the individuals in the book that I was going to bed worrying about these fictional people. There were parts where I dreaded reading on because of what I thought was coming (I was not always right) there were parts where I couldn’t read it fast enough because I wanted to know what happened next, and for the first time ever I put aside my crochet/knitting to concentrate on this book.

I couldn’t recommend this book any higher but I don’t want to give you any more details as I think it will spoil the book for you, and please don’t look it up on Wikipedia either if you plan to read it as I’ve just found its entry and it would have completely destroyed the book for me if I had come across it before hand.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

