Like everyone else, I am sure, I have been completely overwhelmed with emotions after the horrific shootings in Orlando and it seems a bit trite to write a normal blog post so feel I have to at least pass comment before the regular stuff.

I am not a great wordsmith and I know I just don’t have the words to fully explain how or what I feel, but it has reminded me yet again that there are many sections of our society who feel that they can not be themselves as they fear persecution, and how sad and angry this makes me feel. I hate the thought that my friends, family or our child may not be able to walk down a road holding hands with their loved one as they fear the abuse they may receive and it would be so easy to give into hating people but I know that isn’t the way to change things, so I am trying to at least bring our son up knowing this discrimination is wrong and be vocal in my support .

Ok back to some knitting, I was really trying to be good and not cast on anything new as I have a few Wip’s that I would like to get off the needles/hooks so I wasn’t going to take part in the Summer of Socks KAL when I saw Woollenwords mentioned that there was going  to be a special Socks & Rainbows knit night at Wild and Woolly, east London, to celebrate the start of the kal, and also to join up and generate some love that will then be spread, like generous lashings of clotted cream, into the appropriate places (Pride in London), it seemsd like it was something I needed to do, and although I couldn’t actually join them in person I did manage to join them on Periscope and cast on my suitable rainbow sock.

The yarn is from the Den of Yarniquity and  is the colour way Winter Rainbow merino nylon blend, I wasn’t planning to use this for socks but this seem to fit the bill perfectly, so they are now my rings of love socks for Lb. I have used what I think is a fan toe (its the one I always use so have forgotten the name over time) and am going to do an afterthought heel.

The other thing that brought a much needed smile to my face was the arrival of my prize from the competition I entered over on The Beading Gem. I won this great book on Soutache Jewellery.

2016-06-15 13.29.08

Its by Csilla Papp and is full of great photographic instructions for all levels, I have been meaning to give this type of jewellery a go for the last couple of years, I in fact have all the materials I need for at least one of the projects but I have never felt confident enough and have always chickened out even with all the excellent online tutorials, don’t tell anyone but I actually much prefer learning from a book than from a computer so I am really excited to give this a go. I will review the book a little more in depth once I have given one of the projects ago but will say that one thing that really attracted me to it in the first place was some of the more contemporary designs in the book.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

