Skipnorth 2016

It is that wonderful time of year again where I get to join friends for a woolly weekend in west Yorkshire.

2015-03-27 09.41.21

I love this landscape, I have to confess it was a little more foggy than this on Friday.

We started off the weekend with a wonderful trunk show by t he KCG, it was divided into four separate sections and we got to see and handle some amazing items from their collection.

This is a waistcoat donated by one of their Patrons Kaffe Fassett which never made it to publication, apparently a couple of the colours had been discontinued by the time he presented it to Rowan so was tucked aw2016-03-11 15.15.34-2ay.

This wee cardig2016-03-11 16.23.25an is amazing, I don’t think I would dare to have put Lb in it but it has obviously been well loved by the worn patches on the button bands. Barbara Smith has a few better photos over on her Blog here.

 

 

 

And as always on a Friday night we had our annual p/hop swap and this year I struck lucky and manage to come away with a half hank of Indigo Dragonfly Merino Sock in the colour way Tardis, as you know I have a slight Dr Who obsession. I think it will become a pair of socks for Lb after I have finished stroking it.

2016-03-12 17.09.55-2

Sorry for the dark photo but it was quite difficult to capture the movement this yarn has, it really isn’t as flat as it looks.

Saturday was an extravaganza of Shopping opportunities, we set off in our wonderful 22 seater coach, the company is new to us but wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them.

2016-03-12 16.36.33

Our first stop was Ilkley, where not only is there Duttons Buttons and lots of great places to partake of cake and people watching we also found EME, a lovely little store literally split down the middle between knitting and sewing.

2016-03-12 10.57.10-1

There were very helpful, including providing us with a list of local independent cafes to try, I was very tempted by their sewing patterns as well as of course their wool.

We then headed onto The Skep where as normal I couldn’t resist the scrap bin, and thanks to Nevis Knitter I also gained my annual stock of zips from Bonds, I should possibly explain that I had pinged my back the week before so my mobility was limited but all my wonderful friends helped me still shop for treasures.

We finished off our day at the newly opened bricks and Mortar Stash Fine Yarns, in fact we may have been their first customers,  they also laid on refreshments for us. I could have spent a fortune but manage to restrain myself to some baby yarn and this great sock yarn.

2016-03-12 20.22.56

Which I cast on on the way home, again for Pete.

During all this yarn shopping there was plenty of tea and relaxing with friends and of course lots of laughter which carried on into Sunday when we headed out to Wingham’s.

We were so lucky as we headed over the hills the mist started to roll away and we got a beautiful views over the hills.

It never disappoints.

And then we had an added bonus, our wonderful coach driver suggested a small diversion on the way back to the hostel a quick drive through the top of Yorkshire Sculpture Park, and all though we could only see a couple of the works the view across the lake was breath taking and made my weekend.

I always love this weekend away and this year I couldn’t have done it with out my brother especially as I didn’t have my normal partner in crime around, thankfully he is very laid back and maybe just maybe we can convince him to help out again next year.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Skipnorth 2016

  1. You’ve just succeeded in making me very homesick!

  2. Rachel

    It was a fabulous weekend as ever. Thank you to you and your brother.
    Rachel

Leave a Reply

