Book Catch Up

I know its been a while but as my nan always said, if you have nothing nice to say just say nothing.

The good news is though I think I might almost be on target of reading a book a month, I know to most this seems easy but I am sure those with small people will understand how finding time to read a book is limited.

So here is a quick rundown of the books I have read since my last update, I should say that I am no book reviewer.

The Casual Vacancy – J.K. Rowling

41UeGZNKN9L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_

I was really looking forward to this book, I loved the Harry Potter books ( I know they are not to everyones taste) and was really disappointed, I found it a real struggle for the first 100 pages, which was introducing us to the large cast of characters in this story and the then felt the pay off was a bit rushed and for me a big let down.

The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox – Maggie O’Farrell

51+8ddwnZhL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_

I loved this book, I was lent it by my friend Michael, it has lots of twists and turns but a really quick and enthralling read with an unexpected ending.

The Heist – Janet Evanovich And Lee Goldberg

51ss5pLOKHL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_

I have loved Janet Evanovich since Yvonne had introduced me to her many years ago but I have never enjoyed her co-authored works up to now. Although this isn’t as good as the Stephanie Plum Novels its almost as good and can’t wait to read the next one in the series. These books can make me laugh out loud and they are really easy to read, especially if you are reading in short bursts.

The Quarry – Iain Banks

51wSC5ztPBL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_

Another favourite Author of mine, The Wasp Factory is in my top ten favourite books of all time. This book reminds me a lot of The Crow Road, old friends gathering and his great  observations of human behaviour, I wouldn’t recommend it as your first Iain Banks book book but if you are a fan of old its a good one.

Philomena – Martin Sixsmith

41bRRoeEWEL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_

I brought this book on a whim when I had forgotten my knitting for a long bus journey from a local charity shop, I haven’t seen the film but the book is really moving and had me between being very angry and on the verge of tears especially towards the end of the book. Not a feel good book but a book that makes you hug your kids just that bit tighter at night.

The Cuckoo’s Calling – Robert Galbraith

51SM1zlK4eL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_

Now as you can imagine I was very wary about reading this book (for those who didn’t know Robert Galbraith is one of J K Rowling’s Pseudo names ) but it was amazing, it was one of those books that you don’t want to put down once you start, if I could I think I would have spent a whole day just reading it. It is a good old fashioned detective story, well written with a great lead character, just wonderful.

The Mystery Of Mercy Close – Marian Keyes

51BQSfqhS5L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_

Another easy read, I love Marian Keyes writing style, her sense of humour and her great observations of the small things that make people tick.

I think there were a couple more books but I have forgotten them at present so I am guessing that they were not that memorable.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

