A new year approaches

Well I guess its that time of year again, time to look at our lives anew, not that I am planning major changes, I am also not putting pressure on myself to achieve anything but there are things that I wish to do either this year or in the future.

Firstly I think I need to organise a timetable for myself, I am still struggling with people not realising that being at home and working when I can to produce things to sell doesn’t mean I am free at any time so I think I am going to have to stop being so flexible and actually book out days in the week where no matter what I am not available to do things.

This leads to the second thing which is to put more time into my online shop, I let it go at the end of last year and really had become at bit directionless, I really need to make some decisions in what direction I want to  go and stick with it. I’m finding that craft fairs and events locally are really not working for me,  either stall holders are dramatically underselling their products (in some cases I am not sure they are covering the costs of their materials) or I am one of four jewellery stands so I think I am going to concentrate solely on an online presence at the moment.

Thirdly, I really miss being creative for the joy of it, at the moment everything I do seems to be for something, either to sell or to advance a technique, or make a gift for someone and I really miss just creating something so I am considering dabbling with Art Journalling, I have looked at this before and even tried a journal prompt by the lovely Shimille who is lovely and very supportive by the way. At the time it didn’t click with me, I couldn’t let go of wanting it to be perfect, recently though I have started to look at work of people like Teesha Moore and just loved the freedom I found, again though it was quite intimidating and then I found Aaron over on Imperfect Impulses and his wonderful You tube videos where he doesn’t edit anything out so when things don’t quite go right its ok he shows that and all his thought processes as he creates  page, and sometimes shock horror he creates a page he doesn’t like and thats ok. This art journal isn’t going to be for anything and I may never show anyone its contents but I think it may really help my creative juices flow.

My fourth sort of follows on from the last, a month or so a go I watched a programme on the BBC that showed the process of Ian Rankin writing a novel, I always love these kind of programmes as I really enjoy watching creative peoples minds work, it lead me to read one of his novels for the first time and I loved it, I loved the way his characters are real, all their little habits are wonderful, the really sad thing is that it took me almost six weeks to read it, I used to read books in a day but now I no longer seem to have the time so this year I am going to try and read a book a month, now I know this doesn’t seem like many but for me I will be thrilled if I can manage it.

And finally I really want to get the double Filet instruction handouts up on Ravelry, I am technically struggling at the  moment as i want to sent up a joint account between me and Barbara Mann for the East London Crochet Group and technically I can’t quite work out how to do that yet 🙂

There are other things that I would like to do like be less stressed about everything and rediscovering my sewing machine but I think these are less likely to happen 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “A new year approaches

  1. Now I’m at home 2 days a week I’ve started organising my time the same as I do at work – blocking off chunks of it so I can get things done!
    Happy New Year!

  2. I know what you mean by crafting for the joy of it! I’ve been in a similar situation myself but thankfully I don’t live within walking distance of friends so I can block times out to work on craft stuff. A big diary and willingness to say no is so important 🙂 By all means, ask people in if you want to but a quick hello on the doorstep is also ok.

  3. Liz

    I know just what you mean on the “working from home is actual work” thing having worked part time while doing City and Guilds. You need to carve out some time, be stern with people, and write down every idea you have (or fetch/put the materials you think of creating with in a box) the rest of the time, so it’s there to play with when you have the space… and then maybe the being creative for the sake of it will come too.

    Good luck, and all the very best for 2013. See you in March!

Leave a Reply

