One of those days again

I know I seem to have a lot of them these days but I tried this morning I really did, I decided to wake up and try and be positive from the outset as I have been feeling really negative over the last few days, so I thought I’ll start with a list of things that I want to achieve today, nothing to special or beyond my abilities at the moment, trust me my activities are a little capped at the moment and some what frustrating but I tried to put that behind me and concentrate on what I can do and so far I have failed completely, the world is conspiring against me. They are all just stupid things like being unable to hang out the washing as the previous washing hadn’t dried yet. I wanted to post pics of all the lovely gifts I got at the weekend but forgot that Andy has taken the camera with him and so on and so forth.

I did have a wonderful time at Stash on Saturday though ( oh before I forget check out their website for an exciting announcement), starting with a chance of teaching crochet one to one which is always a pleasure, followed by the chance to finally get to meet my secret Pal from SP9 Laura, it was so nice to meet her in person as you spend a long tome worrying that the things you are ending are not right but she was very quick to reassure me that I did good. Also because we were staying at Silkwood I had only an hours commute which was great for a change.

The bunnies and cats all behaved themselves even though at one point we were both pinned to the bed in the morning by several cats:) It was lovely to have a real size kitchen to cook in to so we could cook together where as here it is a singular activity.

Know I did take some knitting to do with me but ended by being tempted by anothe pattern whilst I was there. I decided to tackle Debbie News Maple swirl socks from the Interweave book socks socks socks, I had been looking at it for a while and after a bit of encouragment from Wibbo at Stash I took the plunge.

This was my first attempt at section A on the picture of the socks on the front cover.

sutt-001.jpg

It was at this point that I realised it was completely rong and ripped the whole thing out, now a normal sane person would have given in but I am a stubborn sole so tried again.

sutt-002.jpg

Now this is the second attempt which was far more successful, I wanted to show you how the pattern is written without breaking any copyright as it is such an unusual way which I have fallen in love with, it makes perfect sense to me, you can just see it poking out from behind the knitting in the above picture.

This is how the section is actually supposed to look like, I am using DK wool instead of the recommended worsted cotton. And this is as far as I got by the time I left Silkwood on Tuesday.

sutt-018.jpg

Ok so don’t look to closely at the grafting or the picking up of stitches but I had completed up to section C. I have now finished section D.

I am not sure how wearable these socks will ever be but I love the challenge of them and the patterns it is creating is great.

 Knitting wise I have also becone a member of Ravelry and it is fantastic, really user friendly, I guess its bit like a myspace for knitters but also has great add ons like a place to record all your needles and all your wips and get to see what every body else is up to. 

I promise photos of the gifts I got tommorow

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “One of those days again

  1. It was lovely to meet you too!

    A Stash Sale!! How exciting!! I might have to pop in for that.

    Laura x

  2. That looks like it’s going to be a pretty snazzy sock. I’m amazed knitting can be so intricate. I can sympathize with not being able to do stuff and recently I’ve been overdoing it in an attempt to prove to myself I can do what I like – most counterproductive. Remember, when you think you are not doing anything at all useful, you’re in fact housing, nurturing and forming a whole new human. That’s a pretty productive undertaking! x

  3. Hang in there Nic – tomorrow is another day. The socks look intriguing – can’t wait to see how you get on with them. I’ve signed up for Ravelry but am still waiting for an invitation, hopefully I’ll get in there soon.

  4. Hug hug hug! Sending you lots of positive thoughts.
    x

  5. *hug*. Hope tomorrow is better (that thing with the washing happened to me too yesterday!)

  6. Hi Nic, I wasn’t sure if it’s the Stash sale or the arrival of some more Handmaiden yarn! Although the world may be conspiring against you, I can see that there ARE good things happening as well, just stick with those! See you Saturday?

  7. Wow, charts and graphs and color changes … Oh My! I haven’t ever seen that. It looks extremely challenging…..and now my head hurts.
    I can’t wait to see the finished project.
    And lucky you!!! I have heard only wonderful things about Ravelry. Very exciting.
    Hope things are getting better 🙂

  8. Cazzie

    Keep posting your progress on the socks – they are on my to do one day list – I love the socks in that book.

    Things like wet washing can be so frustrating – all my washing got wet yesterday – lets hope for a better day today…

Leave a Reply

